Shortlisted for the P3: Post-Photography Prototyping Prize 2018


P3: Post-Photography Prototyping Prize 2018

Supporting interdisciplinary and collaborative developments in post-photography

Taken from the P3 website:

Fotomuseum Winterthur in collaboration with the Julius Baer Foundation

P3 is a biennial prize that supports artists, creative technologists and researchers questioning the changing role of photographic media. Initiated in 2016 by Fotomuseum Winterthur in collaboration with the Julius Baer Foundation, P3 sets out to define the field of ‘post-photography’ and to engage with photography’s shifting roles in contemporary culture.

In 2018, the second edition of the Post-Photography Prototyping Prize (P3) will encourage interdisciplinarity and collaboration, bringing artists, technologists and researchers together to address specific issues that underlie the changes in contemporary photographic culture. Academics, visual artists and creative coders will join forces to reflect on social and technological transformations within current image production, distribution and consumption. Their joint explorations will result in a series of prototypes – sketches and drafts, unfinished works and proofs of concepts, visualizations and mockups.

Nadine Wietlisbach (Director, Fotomuseum Winterthur), Marco De Mutiis (Digital Curator, Fotomuseum Winterthur) and Katrina Sluis (Curator of the Digital Programme, The Photographers’ Gallery) have shortlisted fifteen finalists from a pool of artists and scholars nominated by an international selection of experts. Finalists were selected based on their artistic practice and research interest, and grouped into five thematically defined teams: Seeing Machines, Social Exchange, Generative Photography, Digital Labour and the Networked Image.

They will meet physically in London on 14 May 2018, where they will have one day to collaboratively create prototypes that critically, playfully and provocatively engage with the designated themes. The following day the teams will present the result of their efforts in front of the public and the jury, who will award the prize to the winning team.

The presentation of the prototypes and award ceremony will take place on 15 May 2018 at The Photographers’ Gallery in London.


Seeing Machines

Katriona Beales (GB)
Geoff Cox (GB/DK)
Mario Klingemann (DE)

Social Exchange

Bogosi Sekhukhuni (ZA)
Maddy Varner (US)
Nina Wakeford (GB)

Generative Photography

Adam Brown (GB)
Tabea Iseli (CH)
Alan Warburton (GB)

Digital Labour

Manetta Berends (NL)
Nicolas Malevé (BE/GB)
Sebastian Schmieg (DE)

The Networked Image

Ramon Amaro (GB)
Anthon Astrom (CH)
Dina Kelberman (US)


Delphine Bedel (NL), Monica Bello (CH), Ann-Christin Bertrand (DE), Alain Bieber (DE), Matteo Bittanti (IT), Melanie Buehler (US), Sarah Cook (CA), Alfredo Cramerotti (GB), Matteo Cremonesi (IT), Ursula Damm (DE), Marco De Mutiis (CH), Raffael Dörig (CH), Florian Ebner (DE), Doris Gassert (CH), Marvin Heiferman (US), Sabine Himmelsbach (CH), Yuk Yiu Ip (HK), Milo Keller (CH), Kati Kivinen (FI), Fabian Knierim (AT), Tina Kukielski (US), Elise Lammer (DE), Markus Löffler (DE), Alessandro Ludovico (GB), Boris Magrini (CH), Aymeric Mansoux (NL), Eva and Franco Mattes (US), Fabio Paris (IT), Simon Pummell (GB), Rolf Quaghebeur (BE), Domenico Quaranta (IT), Katrina Sluis (GB), Jari-Pekka Vanhala (FI), Nadine Wietlisbach (CH)


Nadine Wietlisbach (Director, Fotomuseum Winterthur), Marco De Mutiis (Digital Curator, Fotomuseum Winterthur), Katrina Sluis (Curator of the Digital Programme, The Photographers’ Gallery), Barbara Staubli (Curator, Julius Baer Art Collection), Joanna Zylinska (Professor of New Media and Communications, Goldsmiths, University of London)

With further support by Elephant Studios at London South Bank University and The Photographers’ Gallery.